Open Source (weekly)

  • “XBMC is an award-winning free and open source (GPL) software media player and entertainment hub for digital media. XBMC is available for Linux, OSX, and Windows.”

    tags: software opensource linux tv windows

    • allows many codecs apperently – post by theanthrogeek
    • I have been unhappy with Windows Media Center, in part because it seems to slow down my NEW Dell Laptop (not sure why) and I find the program lacks a level of ‘INTUITIVE’ design/program interface, which I also hoping to find in a Media Center program – as well as one that does not slow down my computer!REGARDING CODECS – I consider myself to be a knowledgeable computer “user”, however until recently, I have not had the opportunity/need to broaden my knowledge beyond the simple user needs/tasks. But, I am now investing the time to learn the information necessary to create my own website(s) – which, I have found requires a broad base of information in order to create a SUCCESSFUL website. Therefore, I have yet to look up what codec’s ARE and/or offer the computer user, BUT am definitely familiar with the term and planned to take the time to look up the info on codec’s SOON because I have come accross the word multiple times lately. I would appreciate any knowledge you could provide that would enlighten me in this area! – post by Raquel Wheeler
  • “A free open source tool to split and merge pdf documents”

    tags: pdf software tools opensource

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

~ by netlex on April 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
